Teaching and Learning

The Teaching & Learning Department supports teachers in their acquisition of the knowledge and skills needed to deliver grade level content to "all" students though the use of the newly adopted YCSD Instructional Framework. Our curriculum content support is guided by Ohio’s New Learning Standards which is critical in development of the curriculum maps and pacing guides. The department facilitates the use of the District Assessment Matrix that aligns Ohio's Grade Level AIR and End of Course State Assessments in all tested subjects. (ELA, MATH, SCIENCE, and SOCIAL STUDIES)

Several new programs have been adopted and are being implemented at each building which are comprehensive programs to support the literacy and math needs of our students.  These programs align with Ohio’s New Learning Standards and integrate the most current teaching practices.  Each program embraces personalized, student-centered instruction in a blended computer based approach which has proven to significantly increase learning.

To explore more information on the programs, please see the sites below:

Istation

ThinkCerca

iReady

Rosetta Stone

ALEKS

McGraw Hill

Glencoe Math Grades 6-8

Glencoe High School Math

GIZMO

eSpark

STEM Fuse

To aid students in credit recovery, APEX Coursework is used. APEX is used in a lab setting and provides supplemental online courses to accommodate the unique needs of our students who are falling behind in their course work.

To explore more information about APEX, please visit their site: 

APEX


 
TEACHING & LEARNING STAFF

Roxanne Lawson

Roxanne.Lawson@youngstown.K12.oh.us

Kenya Sadler

Kenya.Sadler@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Tracy Schuler -Vivo

Creative & Performing Arts Resource Coordinator
YCSD K-12 - Choffin
Tracy.Schuler-Vivo@youngstown.k12.oh.us 

Bethany Flores

Director of English Language Learners
YCSD K-12 - East Office - Room 58
Bethany.Flores@youngstown.k12.oh.us
Phone: 330-744-7848

Natalie Griffin

Secretary: ELL/Fine Arts/Parent Liaisons
Natalie.Griffin@youngstown.k12.oh.us


Chief Academic Officer
Christine Sawicki
Phone: 330-744-4170
christine.sawicki@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Chief of Secondary Schools
Sonya Gordon
Phone: 330-744-6900 
sonya.gordon@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Chief of Accountability and Assessment
 
Timothy Filipovich
Phone: 330-744-6980
timothy.filipovich@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Deputy Chief of Data
Greg Kibler
Phone: 330-744-7606 
greg.kibler@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Deputy Chief of School Improvement and Programs 
Amanda McGinnis
Phone: 330-744- 7606
amanda.mcginnis@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Deputy Chief of Professional  Development and Gifted Programs 
Michele McCaughtry
Phone: 330-744-4605
michele.mccaughtry@youngstown.k12.oh.us

Secretary
Renita Dodson
Phone: 330-744-6973
Fax:  330-744-5297   
renita.dodson@youngstown.k12.oh.us
  • Preschool